Principles of Political Science in Tripitaka: Democracy

Phairat Phuenchomphoo


Political Science is a branch of Social Sciences that focuses on political behavior of a human being in the society. No principles can be proved that which method is the best administration. However, it is accepted that democracy is the best administration because the word “democracy”, defined as "the rule of the people", is a system dominantly governed by people who have freedom and equal rights.  It is a government by law or the rules of law that protect basic rights of people both in terms of rights and liberties in the property, expressions and living, etc.  Democracy is based on the principle of the majority of votes in conjunction with the respect the rights of the minority. The democratic principle was found in Tripitaka, particularly in many parts of Vinaya Pitaka and Sutta Pitaka. The first chapter of a real democracy is Ovadha Patimokkha
It is the heart of Buddhism because it contains three principles of Dhamma:  Three principle, three Ideologies, and six methods. Besides, democracy consisted of three principles of supremacy including autocracy, supremacy of the world and supremacy of the Dharma. Moreover, the democratic principles are also bestowed by Buddha to the Sangha for performing religious activities, particularly in ceremonies performed by a chapter of Buddhist monks assembled in solemn conclave. In this process, discipline is the constitution or law that goes in line with equity or discipline. In addition, the middle path and democracy must be followed by giving the majority decision to the Sangha. 

Full Text:



  • There are currently no refbacks.

กองวิชาการ สำนักงานอธิการบดี 

๗๙ หมู่ ๑ ห้อง ๓๐๕ สำนักงานอธิการบดี
ต.ลำไทร อ.วังน้อย จ.พระนครศรีอยุธยา ๑๓๑๗๐
โทร. ๐๓๕-๒๔๘-๐๑๓ ต่อ ๘๗๖๗